Divan Borehamwood

Testimonials

Best Turkish restaurant north London

I have been there with my family taken other people every time we go there food quality excellent they do very good hot and cold mezes they kebab best I have eaten in London their service vey friendly family run restaurant you must try doner kebab their kofte they all excellent (5 star out of 5).

Mehmet C From Enfield, England, United Kingdom
July 30, 2013

Great for satisfying a couple of hungry tums

Quite good quality lamb, vegetables and Turkish bread. Service good and attentive. After a starter and a main course, you’ll definitely need that little lie down to digest.

Kevin L from Hemel Hempstead
May 2013

Turkish Delight

Solid service and quality food. Seems to have fallen out of favour with some recently due to opening of Kosk down the road, but remains the better of the 2 in my opinion. Tasty chicken and donner kebabs, mixed meze, hallumi to name but a few tried and tested dishes….

Jonny M
April 2013

Great Food & Service

We have tried all the many Turkish restaurants in Borehamwood, and we feel the divan restaurant is the best,the service is excellent and the staff are friendly,the food is cooked to a high standard,the doner meat is quality and the kleftico was cooked perfectly (tender),this is worth a visit.

Phillip from London, United Kingdom
March 2013

Great Food and Atmosphere in a corner of south Hertfordshire

This restaurant is an excellent introduction to Turkish cuisine for anyone new to this. The food and drink along with the ever helpful staff make visiting and eating at this establishment a very worthwhile exercise. I plan to eat there again in the near future.

Alex H from London
March 2013

Amazing Food!

We always visit here when we travel to London. Believe me it’s worth going a bit out of your way. The food smells and tastes fantastic. A very friendly place too making it a wonderful experience. If you love Turkish food you will not be disappointed.

Mat and Trace From Blackpool, United Kingdom
February 2013

Good Food with friendly service and good for kids

We have eaten at Divan many times and also had take aways and have consistently enjoyed their food. We find the food freshly cooked and very tasty, their service is friendly and their prices are good, what more could one want from a restaurant. The starters are just lovely, the houmous, cacik, sucuk and halloumi are tasty and great portions to share as starters. The bread is tasty and keeps on coming – sometimes too much bread, but that is our fault for eating so much of it! We have always found the mains tasty and good quality, I am not sure why some people on here have not found the same, but we have been happy every time. We have two young boys and they seem to enjoy it as well – a major bonus for us! We will definitely be going back

StAlbansUKTraveller from St Albans
December 2012

Great service and good wholesome food

We love this place, we always went to their sister restaurant masa, which unfortunately closed, but divan is just as good, we are always served very quickly, and receive a warm welcome. The food is always perfect, tasty and we have never waited longer than 15 minutes. This is a laid back, friendly good honest restaurant, we are always accommodated, even when we haven’t booked. The owner is always welcoming and often gives us complimentary starters. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Cliff from Hertfordshire

Great Turkish Grill

Great Turkish food and wine. Good value and friendly service. I go there at least once a month. Food always good and they do takeways too.

C. Kelly
December 2012

lovely food excellent waiter

Went there for a meal with family, we where served quickly by a rearly attentive and not intrusive waiter. We shared a starter of mixed cold mezzi, the humus was home made and the
spicey tomato infused coucous salad was wonderfull.we also had grilled hallumi witch was great .For the mains i had klefto my husband had lamb shish and the others had donner, all where VERY good. our meal came to about £90.00 with wine and beer. We thought this very good value for such a good meal and service.

dawny1289 from London, United Kingdom
November 2012

A dependable suburban eaterie

Divan has no aspirations to be anything other than it sets out to be; a sound, reasonable Turkish restaurant in a suburban High Street. Nearly always busy, reasonably prompt service, unpretentious and good value. My last visit was with 5 friends, all of us had different starters and mains and all were equally happy with what was served.

Simmotours from Hertfordshire UK
May 2012

Good, honest turkish food

More and more frequently we have dinner at Divan. The restaurant is located in front of Borehamwood rail station, right on the corner, so you will have a great view. The restaurant is a bit small, but again that gives it that ” family rastaurant” feeling. Because the restaurant does the usual take away sort of things, in the evening it’s quite busy, you have people sitting on bar stools, watching you, which can be a little bit disturbing, but if you get a table at the back it will be allright. I like the restaurant, it’s modern , I like the paintings, the decoration, but the floor could do with a bit of refurbishment, but obviously that’s got nothing to do with the food! Food. This is not a high end restaurant, what you’ll find here are comforting dishes, honest traditional cooking. They don’t have too many dishes on the menu, but what they have , they cook it , and present it very well. The service is excellent, and they are very friendly.

Will S from Radlett, United Kingdom
May 2012

Consistently perfect!!

Dont understand any bad reviews about this place. Divan has served consistently great food every time I’ve been.. The staff are great and always a smiling face to greet you. The food always seems fresh and great value for money. Definitely one not to miss!

Londonhow from London, United Kingdom
September 2012

Divan restaurant in Borehamwood

Excellent Turkish restaurant. Excellent friendly service, great food. Take-away service IS available. 118.com showing no take-away service. Excellent value for money too.

Jennifer M from London, United Kingdom
May 2012

Best donner for miles

Not only the best donner for miles but excellent imam bayildi, good value meze, excellent patlican and tavuk tava. We have been going there at least once a month since it opened and have not noticed any diminution in quality. Sound, unpretentious and reliable. Certainly not fancy . Never had any issues over service.

LokShenLondon from London
May 2012

Great food reasonably priced .best restaurant in Borehamwood.

This is my first time writing a review and am writing it only because I read the ratings for Divan on trip advisor and could not believe how bad they were. I eat there often and we love the food there. We have never had a poor meal and obviously they do now know us but have never had bad service. I do not understand why trip advisor has this restaurant down as no 10 out of 10 in Borehamwood because my family and friends love it and would put it at number one . I promise I have no connection with this restaurant other than loving the food and being a regular customer but just felt compelled to write as I so strongly disagreed with some of the other reviews . Honestly the food is delicious.

007lynne
February 2012

A brilliant gem in Borehamwood

We live locally in Elstree and have eaten in Divan countless times and had take-away from there which has been faultless over the years. Memet the owner is a great host and the staff have always been lovely. Our friends travel into Borehamwood just for this restaurant both to eat in and take away which I think speaks volumes about the quality….. thank god Borehamwood has this restaurant! Also MASA which they also own on the high street does amazing fish and chips! My kids love both restaurants and even with their fussy appetites they are always willing to provide a dish to suit them…just great!

Jacki F from London, United Kingdom
December 2011

Love the food here

Beautiful and reasonably priced Turkish food! Have eaten here lots and always enjoy it.

GirlSkucey from Elstree, United Kingdom
December 2011

Absolutely awesome; I travel miles to eat here…

THE very best prepared meat dishes you will find within the M25. Charming and unassuming, the open kitchen (bbq) area makes Divan a truly great eatery. I have spent literally ten times as much on meat dishes all over London (and the rest of the world) and nothing comes close to these guys. Gaucho – amongst others – should hang their heads shamefully… I never visit London without making a detour (from Canary Wharf) to Divan; if there has to be one thing they can improve on for me, it would be to invest in a better a/c system (but this is the closest to heaven I have ever been in spite of the a/c).

Jacques Ward from Riols, France

All the above reviews were taken from TripAdvisor read more reviews here.